Sign up for E.J.'s newsletter to receive book news, special deals, and prizes!

Shiver me timbers! The Pirate Curse is coming October 8th.

Brush with Death now available in ebook and trade paperback editions! Amazon / Amazon UK / Barnes & Noble

Reviews


















Reviews of She Smells the Dead:

"I loved this even though I'm 25 and don't find myself drawn to young adult fiction as much as in the past....The sensory detail really elevates things. Smell is one of the most underrated senses but it's funny how reading about it draws the memory. And then wow, emotional tones. Brilliant! "
-Wren Doloro (September 19, 2012)

"E.J. pulls out all the stops with the first installment to the Spirit Guide series."
-Fictitious Musings (July 19, 2012)

"She Smells the Dead by E.J. Stevens is a captivating read that I completely enjoyed on so many levels. The next in the series, Spirit Storm promises to be as fanfaerytastic as She Smells the Dead! I know this because I’ve already read it!

THE BOOK FAERY SAYS ROCK ON E.J. STEVENS! "
-The Book Faery (November 25, 2011)

"She Smells the Dead was a fun lighter type of mystery with paranormal elements. "
-For What It's Worth (November 14, 2011)

"Excellent storytelling from EJ, as she takes readers into a whole new dimension of fun! I think people of all ages will love it!"
-Freda's Voice (November 08, 2011)

"As for this book’s grade, I am quite aware that this is the first time I have given the rating “The Jetsetter’s Must-Have." I know it’s a tall order for any book to be highly entertaining with full character development and passing our “travelability” meter at the same time. But I believe She Smells the Dead accomplished all that with flying colors. E.J. Stevens’ tale delivered a punch with a crisp saucy voice; no senseless mumblings from her. I like that. And I know you also would. So try reading the Spirit Guide Series if you’re up for a more than average teen paranormal story."
-The Traveling Reader (November 03, 2011)

"Everything about this book is unique. I had fun and I hope you'll check it out too."
-One A Day YA (October 27, 2011)

"The characters felt like my best friends and at point I felt like I was a character, that’s always the best feeling I look for in a book and I got it!"
-You Know What They Say About Book People (September 14, 2011)

"What can I say? E.J. Stevens knocked this one out of the park! She made a plot premise that is so overused – a girl being haunted by the spirits of the dead who want her to do something for them, and took it in a whole new and interesting direction! I love her for that!"
-My Shelf Confessions (September 05, 2011)

"She Smells the Dead was filled with funny, intriguing, and witty characters...She Smells the Dead is a book that I would recommend to anyone who loves paranormal novels!"
-The Book Bubble (September 03, 2011)

"Funny, quirky, supernatural and romantic, this is a unique read that will get you loving these characters and their situations. A mystery story, a romance, a completely different supernatural twist, all rolled into one book. The cover for this is perfect and actually exactly how I imagined that Yuki would look. I defy you not to get swept up in this fun story, which is like a refreshing breath of fresh air in this genre."
-Always Lost in Stories (August 29, 2011)

"Think “Nancy Drew goes Goth, meets Glee!” and you’ve got E.J. Stevens’ smart and snappy SHE SMELLS THE DEAD"
-Kindle Nation Daily (August 08, 2011)

"I love how original Yuki was. She wasn’t your average cookie cutter character. She was a goth girl and she was darn proud of it. She was hilarious, sarcastic and kick butt. She was all the things that I love in characters.

The plot was so fun, fast paced and it seemed like there was adventure around every corner! "
-Two Readers Reviews (August 01, 2011)

"She Smells the Dead, a novel that made me laugh, smile and gasp in delight...Yuki is the awesomest (is that even a word?) character I've ever read."
-Cup of Tea Reviews (July 25, 2011)

"I can guarantee fans of the paranormal and fantasy will love this book."
-Books that Spark (July 13, 2011)

"Check out this book if you're looking for a neat, unique heroine and some weird and wonderful paranormal elements."
-All Consuming Books (July 10, 2011)

"This fast-paced, ghostly mystery had me cheering Yuki and her friends on and looking forward to reading the next installment in the series."
-The Book Buzz (July 05, 2011)

"Overall, this is a really quick, fun read. I really enjoyed it, and am looking forward to the next book. "
-The Reader Bee (July 04, 2011)

"It truly is a brilliant series beginning."
-A Tale of Many Reviews (June 29, 2011)

"Great read."
-Tanya (June 24, 2011)

"She Smells the Dead is very different. You will love it. You will love the fast pacing, the crazy characters and the adventures they go through. Stevens' writing will get you addicted. Read up on it!"
-Steph Short and Sweet (June 23, 2011)

"I think that fans of Kimberly Derting's "The Body Finder" series and Meg Cabot's "Mediator" series will gobble this book up in a heartbeat, becoming instant fans of E.J. Stevens (and Cal, we obviously cannot forget Cal the heartthrob)."
-Avery's Book Nook (June 21, 2011)

"I really really enjoyed this book! A fresh new look at spirits and ghosts, werewolves and the unknown."
-Mlpmom (June 19, 2011)

"I LOVED this book. Those of you who know me, know I am a Ghost-Story-Whore (Ghost related books are my favorite type of paranormal story and I consume them with greed and happiness, especially when the book is a good one). This was a GREAT one! The story was original, not something that has been done over and over and over again. Big plus for me...So if you haven't read this one yet, get to it!"
-Brandi (June 15, 2011)

"The paranormal aspects of this book kept me enthralled; I couldn't get enough.

The characters in this one also helped me enjoy the read. I am absolutely smitten with Calvin Miller. He might actually be the hottest werewolf in YA fiction for me. He is so strong and protective. I also love that in spite of his hotness, he is not a jerk. Calvin is down to earth and truly cares about Yuki. I think YA needs more characters like him to show teen girls about what being in a good relationship can be like.  In addition, I also really liked Yuki. She is spunky, funny, and sensitive. Her goth wardrobe and dark makeup keep her from fitting in at school. I have always gravitated toward the fringe characters in literature. She is the kind of main character who can keep me loving a series. I look forward to seeing more of her in future books."
-Reading Lark (June 12, 2011)

"I am so glad that I read this novel because it seriously does not disappoint and I had a blast reading it. I can’t wait to jump right into the second novel, that's how excited I am."
-Breathing Books (June 12, 2011)

"I really enjoyed the unique spin on this paranormal story. It took the paranormal, ghost story, and spirits to a completely different level.

If you like a quick witted, fast paced light read of the paranormal kind, I think that you will enjoy this book. I am looking forward to reading the second in the series. "
-A Journey in Reading (June 02, 2011)

"I couldn't put this book down. Once I started I had to finish the whole thing. Yuki is my kind of gal. Like Abby from NCIS. This is a wonderful, amazing, and entertaining story. Yuki and Cal are perfect for each other. This story had me smiling, frowning, laughing, and nearly crying with the characters. The hero is strong yet vulnerable and the the heroine is spunky yet shy. I had wanted to read this story for so long after hearing all the rave reviews about it and I was definitely not disappointed. This book has made it to the top three of my favorite books. I can't wait to read the next one! Kudo's to E.J. Stevens for being an imaginative author with a powerful mind. Love it!"
-Jill (June 2, 2011)

"Firstly the cover of this book is so stunning, when my copy arrived in the mail I was breathless, the picture online does not do it justice. I loved that this story was so original in the way that Yuki smells dead people and needs to help them move on before the smell will go away. I loved that it was written in a way that was so easy to relate to and the little bad jokes in there are so similar to what gets said in this house that I couldn't help laughing. Also you can't help but love all the characters they are each unique in their own way but at the same time are so gorgeous, pure and characters that you would love to be friends with."
-Kym (May 30, 2011)

"I have to admit I was pleasantly surprised by this book. I wasn't sure what to expect but this went above and beyond whatever I expected. There are a lot of mysterious things going on in this book. There is paranormal stuff going on, mystery, murder, werewolves, spirit guides and all kinds of good stuff.

I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a good read. This is an excellent book."
-Amber (May 30, 2011)

"Ms. Stevens writes a thrilling novel filled with the paranormal, adventure, mystery, and the unknown.  The Spirit Guide series is a spell binding YA read, brimming over and reminding me of all those fantastic adventure and fantasy books I read as a teen.  Readers will sit, enraptured by the author’s skill in creating characters that explode from the pages.

I loved She Smells the Dead and highly recommend it and Spirit Storm to anyone that has a weakness for well-written YA novels.  5 fantastic Stars!"
-At Your Fingertips (May 26, 2011)

"She Smells The Dead is an outstanding read that surprised me with its to-the-point writing style that immediately grabbed my interest."
-Rabid Reads (May 24, 2011)

"Stevens is a talented writer who pulls you into the story and keeps up the fast pace throughout the novel.  I love her writing style and how she tells her story.  It is straight to the point without the meandering that has been plaguing me in so many novels of late.  This is an easy read you can just sit back and enjoy."
-Mel's Books (May 24, 2011)

"What I loved most about this YA series was the originality of the story. The lead female Yuki has an unusual power of smelling the dead. She very spirited and has an awesome assortment of gothic attire; she’s just a bundle of fun...A quick read that gets down to the point of the story, Steven wraps you up in her world she’s created with her fantastic writing. I loved her characters and the paranormal elements. The secret that revolves around Calvin and the crush that Yuki has, just made me smile with excitement to see what would happen next.

I recommend this book to YA fans that love humor, paranormal elements and a fun mystery."
-Seeing Night Reviews (May 14, 2011)

"...the more i read, the more addicting it became. Yuki and Cal are amazing. I love them and i cant wait to start reading the next book."
-Mo (May 14, 2011)

"I loved the originality of this story. So different from any ghost whisper I have read. Yuki is Very unique, and loveable. The Writing style and pace flows well. I love how E. J. Stevens built the characters. Her friends Calvin and Emma were awesome.

Great YA Paranormal Romance."
-Were Vamps Romance (May 10, 2011)

"SHE SMELLS THE DEAD was a unique, easy read filled with a fantastic array of characters. I enjoyed E.J. Stevens to the point no nonsense writing. Yuki was a great lead character. She was unique and had a wonderful view of the world and who she is. The story flowed perfectly from scene to scene."
-Urban Fantasy Investigations (May 10, 2011)

"E.J. Stevens, truly took me into her world from page one. I fell in love with her MC, Yuki from the first moment she wrinkled her adorable nose at the smell of vinegar...or the smell of the dead.
It's a fun fast paced read, great for any YA readers!"
-Thomas Amo (May 06, 2011)

"E. J. Stevens has brought a new and fun element to YA paranormal fiction.

I truly enjoyed this book. I am a fan of dream imagery and E. J. Stevens weaves this into the story nicely. The characters are charming, quirky and interesting and they each seem to blossom as the book progresses."
-Bonnie Lamer (May 06, 2011)

"...honestly, it was totally, amazingly, awesome!"
-Book Trends (May 04, 2011)

"E.J. Stevens' She Smells the Dead was quite interesting. First the title alone had my eyebrows raising in curiosity and the cover is beautiful and eerie at the same time, so I had to give this one a shot! And it was pretty interesting overall!"
-A Great Read (May 03, 2011)

"This story is clearly for the Young Adult genre, but I still enjoyed it as an adult reader. Yes, there is a romance side as well as a paranormal side.  Another plus, there’s no swearing or sex scenes involved in this story line. "
-Shelley (May 01, 2011)

"I give this strength four tea: good concept, good characters, good writing, good fun. A quick read that I want to read more of."
-Death Books and Tea (Apr 28, 2011)

"I fell in love with Yuki...she has to learn how to protect herself and solve the problems of the ghosts she encounters. A pretty tall order when you still have homework and a curfew."
-Dana's YA Bookpile (Apr 26, 2011)

"In this mysterious and intriguing Y.A novel, Yuki is cool and unique girl, with a name to match. Calvin is her best friend, who can quirk one eyebrow up (*heart skips a beat*) and who has secrets of his own. Then there is Emma, who I loved, she’s Yuki’s friend, witty, a vegan and believes in animal rights. The book is fast paced and is filled with romance, mystery and great, quirky characters. E.J Stevens style of writing flows well and keeps you hooked. It all ends on a cliffhanger and I can’t wait to read the next installment. Definitely recommend it to you if you enjoy paranormal novels with some romance thrown in!"
-Moonlight Reader (Apr 25, 2011)

"A clever premise (yes, she smells dead people) combined with high school angst, in-crowds, out-crowds and a cute boyfriend with his own secret made this a fast, fun read."
-Sharon Buchbinder, author of Kiss of the Silver Wolf (Apr 25, 2011)

"She Smells the Dead was quite a refreshing read. Yuki is, without a doubt, a very unique character.

The development of the story moved into a completely different direction than i initially assumed. It was quite exciting. She Smells the dead was very quick paced and the plot was developed without stall, making E.J. Stevens a straight-to-the-point kind of author. Very admirable."
-A Cupcake and a Latte (Apr 20, 2011)

"...like a Nancy Drew with a paranormal twist. Original and fresh."
-Ami Blackwelder (Apr 20, 2011)

“What an interesting power! Yuki, as the title suggests, can smell the dead. This isn't your average superpower; nothing like flying, invisibility or super-strength. As a lover of the strange, I found this idea to be intriguing and it held my attention through the course of the book.”
-The Magick Pen (Apr 19, 2011)
 
“Well, I'm happy to say that I've found a new paranormal romance series to obsess over.

A touch of the paranormal, romance, mystery, action... this book has it all. The characters were all different, unique, and amazingly written.”
-The Awesome Magic Attic (Apr 13, 2011)

“There are some great ideas in this book that I found quite original and I'm sure others would agree.”
-Dark Fantasy: Adult + YA Fiction (Apr 3, 2011)

“E.J. Stevens' novel is a combination of paranormal romance and mystery with a good bit of humor thrown in.

I really loved this story. The romance was just enough. The paranormal was definitely something new and it wasn't just the smelling dead people.

This novel is G rated. Anyone that likes paranormal romance/mystery should enjoy this quick read.”
-Buried in Books (Mar 27, 2011)
 
“E.J. pulls out all the stops with the first installment to the Spirit Guide series.”
-Book Noise (Mar 19, 2011)

“Yuki would have to be one of my favorite heroines that I have read about in a long time.”
-Forbidden Passion Reviews (formerly Black Rose Reviews) (Mar 7, 2011)

“With so many current YA series nearing the end I am glad to find this one in its early stages to keep me entertained.”
-Bitten by Books (Jan 24, 2011)

“Yuki, Calvin and Emma each come into their own in this outstanding break-out novel for young adults and the young of heart.”
-Laurie's Thoughts and Reviews (Jan 11, 2011)

“I really had a hard time putting this one down. Part ghost story, part mystery, part supernatural and ALL EXCELLENT!”
-Read For Your Future (2011)

“When I read this I wanted to stand up and say, “Bravo!” Very well done, indeed.

It’s well-written and it flows, it’s not too violent, and surprisingly original.”
-Journal of Always (reprinted at Pixel of Ink) (Dec 29, 2010)

“I so enjoyed the story. The Ghost Whisperer in Smell-O-Rama. Yuki may not be the most popular girl at school, but she definitely has the Bestest Friends a girl could ask for. This story was a refreshing new slant on helping the dead cross over to the light. I won't give any of the exciting details away, but when an unexpected romance starts, and complications start to arise with the lingering smelly dead and the annoying wet dog smell, you are sure to be swallowed up into E. J. Stevens exciting, twisting turning plot. Can't wait to see what happens on Samhain.”
-T.Lynne Tolles, author of the Blood Series (Dec 16, 2010)

“LOVED this book!

She smells the dead is quirky, funny (Seriously, I giggled everytime I read the words: Bee Oppression) and terrific for those who want a new spin on your paranormal stories.”
-Far From Reality (Dec 11, 2010)

“I would definitely recommend reading She Smells the Dead.  I keep telling people that if you liked Kelly Armstrong's The Darkest Powers Series then I think you would like She Smells the Dead. I'm not exactly sure why I think this.  For some reason I just thought it had that kind of feel to it.  Trust me, coming from me that is a VERY good thing.  So grab a copy of She Smells the Dead get comfortable and enjoy.  You might not be able to get up till you've finished.”
-My Neurotic Book Affair (Nov 29, 2010)

“Can I say how creative this story is? Smelling the dead? Wow! Not only is it original but it is done well, and interesting to read about.

The book is full of mystery and is a great paranormal read.”
-Young Adult Books Reviewed (Nov 2, 2010)

“To say that this book is rather unlike anything I've ever read before seems a bit of an understatement. I mean where else in YA fiction have you ever found a main character that smells dead people? See them, yup. Sense them, definitely. Smell them? Yuki is absolutely one of a kind in that respect. It was this little fact that first drew me to the book, and then had me hooked by the middle of the first chapter.

Original, fantastic and fun!”
-Hopelessly Devoted Bibliophile (formerly A Fanatic's Book Blog) (Oct 31, 2010)

“This very entertaining story is a great addition to the YA market, appropriate for young readers and adults as well.”
-One Book Shy of a Full Shelf (Oct 31, 2010)

“Loved this gem of a book!”
-vvb32 reads (Oct 30, 2010)

“She Smells The Dead lays the foundation for a great new YA series.

If you love ghosts, Goths, and a little bit of YA romance, you will want to check this book out.”
-Diva's Bookcase (Oct 18, 2010)

“I adored the main character Yuki, and her drive to be herself no matter what others thought.

It's a great book in my opinion and I recommend that you check it out.”
-The Cajun Book Lady (Oct 12, 2010)

“Author E. J. Stevens’ delightfully original She Smells the Dead impressed me from its first pages and I now include it among my favorite novels. Yuki is one of the most likeable heroines a reader has the joy to be introduced to, and I loved hearing her every thought as much as following her story adventure. The author’s great character development shines through with the entire cast. Calvin, simultaneously cool and down-to-earth and Emma, passionate vegan and animal advocate, are the best friends we all wish we had. This paranormal romance of blossoming love and great friendships, with laugh-out-loud moments, shares the wonderful “high school can be hell” metaphor and witty dialogue of the TV series, “Buffy the Vampire Slayer,” but in a unique story all its own and with the distinctive voice of its talented author. I eagerly await the next book in the Spirit Guide series! Highly recommended.”
-Krisi Keley, author of On the Soul of a Vampire (Oct 01, 2010)

“I loved the quirkiness of this book.”
-Stories and Sweeties (Sep 27, 2010)

“I absolutely loved every last delicious page of She Smells The Dead!”
-Sparkling Reviews (Sep 23, 2010)

“THIS BOOK IS BRILLIANT!!!”
-Moonlight Book Reviews (Sep 23, 2010)

“I loved the sleuthing aspect that goes along with Yuki’s gift/curse... This series is like Nancy Drew meets the Winchester Brother’s from Supernatural.”
-I'd So Rather Be Reading (Sep 22, 2010)

“I loved this book it was a wonderful mix of romance and mystery behind everything that Yuki goes though and has to deal with. The story flows wonderfully the way it introduces who Yuki will end up with as well as how she must learn to control her gift, was done perfectly in my opinion. I can't wait for another book because I want to know what the hell happens on Halloween. So EJ Stevens PLEASE KEEP WRITING!!!!!!!”
-Deanna (Sep 20, 2010)

“I recommend it to Paranormal lovers, YA, mystery fans. I think young teens could read this with ease of their parents.”
-Jessica's Vision (Sep 16, 2010)

“She Smells the Dead provides something new and fresh to the YA realm.”
-Flippin' Fabulous: A Reader's Record (Sep 15, 2010)

“She Smells the Dead is an exciting new take on wolves, spirits, and more.”
-I Swim for Oceans (Sep 11, 2010)

“It’s enchanting and very entertaining!

Very much looking forward to the sequel!”
-Amaterasu Reads (Sep 9, 2010)

“With its unique take on the paranormal world we all love so much, I recommend it to lovers of all things haunted!”
-Book Crazy (Sep 9, 2010)

“This book is part mystery, part romance, part adventure and all the things a person wants!”
-Scarrlet Reader (Sep 9, 2010)

“I received this one yesterday, started reading it last night and finished it today.”
-Vampires and Tofu (Sep 8, 2010)

“I have just come upon an enchanting new Paranormal Mystery Story written by Dark Poetess , EJ Stevens. She Smells the Dead is just what the Moms and Librarians have been looking for. A New Series of books with enchantment, mystery, love and commitment.”
-Paranormal Romance Guild (2010)


















 Reviews of Spirit Storm:

"I just love the Spirit Guide series! Each novel just keeps getting better and better!"
-Ashley Koep

"I absolutely loved all the werewolf stuff and seeing how it ties into all the spiritual goings-on was really awesome."
-One A Day YA (November 16, 2011)

"There is a good bit of paranormal in this story with ghosts, spirits, werewolves and spirit guides. Witches and faeries even play a small part. From murderers, to kidnappings, to travels in the spirit realm, to a real spirit storm to stealing, Spirit Storm has it all.

"It’s always tough for any author to top what her debut novel has done but E.J. Stevens did a super remarkable job with Spirit Storm and then some. Not only has the book captured the mood and success of She Smells the Dead, it has also cemented the normalcy of paranormal beings like werewolves, not a common feat even in paranormal series.

E.J. Stevens has created likeable characters, a fast-paced plot and a fair share of romance to keep even the most picky readers engaged."
-BookTrib (November 08, 2011)

Highly Recommended for all ages!"
-Buried in Books (October 18, 2011)

"Oh, how I missed Yuki!  Which proves how addictive this series is, seeing as I read Spirit Storm straight after I finished She Smells the Dead, but there you go.  And what a wonderful sequel!  It was just as quirky, cute, fun and such a page turner!  I found myself sitting in bed, my kindle on my lap, reading way into the wee hours.  I love this series!"
-The Book Addicted Girl (September 29, 2011)

"This series is so much fun! I’ve really enjoyed reading it."
-The Reader Bee (September 23, 2011)

"Spirit Storm is an exciting mixture of the threat of a werewolf murderer on the loose (which the gang need to track down before he can harm anyone else), and the approaching danger of Samhain- where the veil between the spirit world is at it's thinnest and therefore Yuki is most in danger of being completely overwhelmed...There is a constant sense of the clock ticking down and the tension building throughout the book."
-Always Lost in Stories (August 29, 2011)

"I have to say I'm really enjoying this series...I love how good this story makes me feel reading it."
-YA Book Haven (August 17, 2011)

"I love Yuki's personality. She is such a fun character, in fact I would go as far to say she is one of the best characters I have read in a YA series."
-My Guilty Obsession (August 09, 2011)

"Yuki is still the awesome, sassy, funny character as she was before."
-Cup of Tea Reviews (July 27, 2011)

"A thoroughly enjoyable read from my new favourite Author, E. J. Stevens."
-Books That Spark (July 22, 2011)

"I really couldn't put the book down. All the characters brought so much to this book and I enjoyed them all so much! I can not wait to see what happens next!"
-Awesomesauce Book Club (July 07, 2011)

"There were many things I liked about this story."
-A Tale of Many Reviews (June 29, 2011)

"I enjoyed this second book in E.J.'s series. I just really enjoy the characters...everyone has such a different personality. I could read about these characters for a long time and hopefully E.J. keeps writing about them as they grow together with all their gifts."
-Tanya (June 26, 2011)

"Spirit Storm was captivating...This series is the perfect balance of paranormal, mystery, and romance that keeps me wanting more."
-Reading Lark (June 25, 2011)

"Well E.J. Stevens has done it again! Written a book which instantly hooks the reader and reels them in. Again, Yuki is a really intriguing character, Cal is swoon-worthy, and the tempo of the book is very fast paced, keeping the reader on the edge of their seat the entire time. What is even better about this book than its predecessor is that the secondary characters, Emma and Simon, make such a profound impact upon us. Their bantering back and forth was so entertaining and truly the cherry on top of this book (and dare I say it, though I know that there is a bit of an age difference between them, I wouldn't mind seeing them together together in the next book of the series).

It is evident that E.J. is really developing as an author with each installment of this series- I cannot wait to see what she has in store for us in the next book in the series (slated to be released this fall), "Legend of Witchtrot Road"."
-Avery's Book Nook (June 24, 2011)

"Spirit Storm starts off at a great pace and it thankfully picks-up right where the previous book left off. The dynamics between Yuki's group of friends was so well-written that I felt like one of the clique."
-Rabid Reads (June 16, 2011)

"E.J. has a wonderful writing style that I love....her sense of humor really shines through in her stories and no matter how "ghostly" they are you can always get a good chuckle.

While it is YA I think this one is good for anyone from the younger YA readers to the older YA readers. If you haven't checked her out yet then you are really missing out. E.J. is absolutely one of my favorite indie authors!"
-The Cajun Book Lady (June 13, 2011)

"E.J.'s done it again! Yuki, Cal, Simon, and Emma are at it again. Lot's of new developments in this story and it made it more and more entertaining. This is a superb edition to the spirit series! The ending went in a direction I never imagined and I cannot wait for the next one. I shall be waiting with baited breath."
-Jill (June 10, 2011)

"I really enjoyed reading Spirit Storm. The story is unique, the characters are loveable. The relationship between Cal & Yuki is sweet & innocent. Plenty of funny moments between Emma & Simon. All in all this book is a pretty cool read with just enough mystery, suspense, laughter & romance in it. I can't wait to find out what happens next."
-Maggie (June 09, 2011)

"I love this series. This is the second book in the Spirit Guide series and it looks like there are more to come. (I can't wait!) I love Yuki and her lovable friends. These are fast easy relaxing reads with a very interesting story."
-Melissa (June 06, 2011)

"I am loving this series and Spirit Storm picks up perfectly where She Smells The Dead finished.

Danger and trouble is around every corner in this story and keeps you wanting more and more. The ending was gorgeous and now I just have to begin my not so patient wait until October."
-Kym (June 03, 2011)

"I absolutely love Spirit Storm for so many reasons! First of all, it has a fast-paced plot. It keeps going, and doesn't stop when a solution doesn't come immediately. The characters are well-developed and very essential to the plot. Spirit Storm is a fantasy realistic-fiction, and contains werewolves and smelly spirits. Yuki's sleuthing skills to solve her Samhain problems are very detective-like. It would be best to read She Smells the Dead (1st Spirit Guide Novel) to best understand Spirit Storm, including the characters and the basic plot itself. I think it is very interesting how there is fantasy, adventure, and romance all combined in one novel. It is quite original how there is a significant, yet small part in werewolves and spirits. Though the book is based on werewolves and spirits, E. J. Stevens also incorporated some high school adventures. There is also the adventure of rescuing Sam, and Cal and Yuki's romance. If you like these combinations of genres, I suggest you read this book. I rate Spirit Storm a 5 out of 5."
-Book Trends (May 25, 2011)

"I love seeing authors that branch into entirely different areas of paranormal fiction (well, fiction in general, but let's be specific here for a second) rather than sticking with the same old tried and true blockbusters, especially when they do it well.  These are great books for fans of unique paranormal YA in particular, but will probably appeal to anyone who likes a good paranormal read.  Check them out!"
-Cat's Thoughts (May 23, 2011)

"I highly recommend this series for its humor, mystery, definitely the romance and the characters are just awesome!

This is a Young Adult novel suited for any age. Fans of Rachel Hawkins A Hex Hall Series and Lauren Kate’s Fallen Series will love this!"
-Seeing Night Reviews (May 16, 2011)

"There is lots of mystery, suspense and action...I cant wait to see what Stevens brings us next."
-Urban Fantasy Investigations (May 10, 2011)

"I really enjoyed reading Spirit Storm. The story is unique, the characters are loveable. The relationship between Cal & Yuki is sweet & innocent. Plenty of funny moments between Emma & Simon. All in all this book is a pretty cool read with just enough mystery, suspense, laughter & romance in it. I can't wait to find out what happens next."
-Maggie (May 05, 2011)

"E.J. Stevens' Spirit Storm was a good followup to She Smells the Dead."
-A Great Read (May 03, 2011)

"Spirit Storm is twice as dark, mysterious, and exciting as it's predecessor, She Smells the Dead."
-A Cupcake and a Latte (Apr 23, 2011)

“This book, as with the book before, had an amazing blend of paranormal romance, action, goth, mystery, and adventure. There's a little something in it for everyone, and I strongly recommend this book.”
-The Awesome Magick Attic (Apr 13, 2011)

"I love the imagery of Yuki, her dark rimmed eyes, her doc martin boots.  Another great read."
-Dark Fantasy: Adult + YA Fiction (Apr 08, 2011)

“This book is technically for Young Adults but actually all ages will enjoy reading it.

I recommend this book to anyone that enjoys a good story with a few laughs, a good mystery, some mystic happenings and some strange spirit guides.”
-Loves to Dive (Apr 03, 2011)
 
“Just like the first book we are told the story through Yuki’s eyes (and mind) she is still sassy, still stylish and still kick-butt.

The writing and pace are wonderful and witty. This book can make me laugh and gasp in 'oh my goodness what will happen next' fashion.

A unique story and great cast make Spirit Storm a book to read, just be sure to pick up the first book She Smells the dead so you won’t be left in the dark.”
-Far From Reality (Mar 10, 2011)

“E.J. Stevens is not afraid to step outside the boundries and get creative. This novel, like its predecessor, was a true page turner.”
-Forbidden Passions Reviews (formerly Black Rose Reviews) (Mar 9, 2011)

“A great read one that was quick and fun, with plenty of suspense and a very sweet romance that develops through the book”
-Star Shadow (Mar 7, 2011)

“Yuki is back in the eagerly awaited Spirit Guide series.  This is another “feel-good” read that is masterfully told, with witty, often humorous, dialogues and action scenes.

Again, this fabulous adventure should appeal not only to young adults but to anyone who likes characters with grit and charisma who strive always to overcome adversity – characters that will touch your heart and gladden your soul.”
-Laurie's Thoughts and Reviews (Feb 24, 2011)

“It looks like my newfound love of paranormal romance will continue, and I can pretty much blame it on one of my new favorite authors, E.J. Stevens.

It deserves to be up there in the pantheon of new PR releases, right alongside Amanda Hocking, another of my favorites in the genre. I know I will be passing both Spirit Storm and She Smells the Dead down to my daughter, and I will feel confident in doing so; confident that the messages she receives from the words Stevens has put down on paper will enlighten, amuse, and most important of all, make her think.”
-Journal of Always (Feb 23, 2011)

“Yuki's love for Calvin is well expressed. She shows that she is strony, yet vulnerable. At one point where she interreacts with Calvin's spirit, it reminded me of Claire Abshire, heroine of "The Time Traveler's Wife." Both Claire and Yuki are brought into a spirit world by meeting their respective lovers, Cal and Henry. Both young women fight to keep their love alive and overlook any oddities in their lovers' existence. They are two charming characters in two unique and memorable novels.”
-Mike Draper (Feb 15, 2011)

“I haven’t read a truly great YA paranormal in more years than I can remember, and Ms. Stevens delivers the most well written tale imaginable! There’s just enough adventure, humor, intrigue, drama, suspense, supernatural, and a good healthy dose of the paranormal to send shivers down the readers’ spine.

Absolutely beautiful, well written, adventurous, and delightful!”
-At Your Fingertips (Feb 3, 2011)

“Once again, I was delighted with this series. It is fun, exciting and entertaining. The depth of the characters, the intriguing plot and the blend of reality made it extremely hard to put down”
-Bitten by Books (Jan 24, 2011)

“Spirit Storm is the second novel in the Spirit Guide series. All of the wonderfully quirky characters from She Smells the Dead return: Yuki, Calvin, Emma, and Simon.

...this series rocks. There’s just something about it and the characters that keeps me coming back for more.”
-The Musings of Almybnenr (2011)

“Populated by mysterious supernatural beings, and mortals possessing extraordinary powers, Spirit Storm by E.J. Stevens, is an enchanting tale that transports the reader to an intriguing realm of spirits, werewolves and murder.

I highly recommend Spirit Storm to anyone looking to experience a thrilling paranormal ride through intriguing mystery, heart pounding suspense, and the pain and joy of true love.”
-Paranormal Romance Guild (2011)

“Part mystery, part adventure, part romance and all the things a reader wants.”
-Read For Your Future (2011)



















Reviews of Legend of Witchtrot Road:

"I am a huge fan of the Spirit Guide series and as a result, Stevens has earned her place as one of my new favourite authors...This series shows no signs of slowing down in terms of it’s readability and quality. I cannot wait to read more about Yuki and her friends in the next installment. This series is a must read for fans of the paranormal young adult genre!"
-Books That Spark (February 08, 2012)

"This is a tale of social conscience and, just like the great television show I mentioned earlier (Buffy the Vampire Slayer), takes some of the more pressing concerns facing our nation’s youth (bullying, eating disorders, the proliferation of drugs in the community, etc.) and presents them in a fantastic manner. It’s a type of storytelling that’s pure in intention and beautiful in message, especially when presented in a professional manner, which E.J. Stevens does with every book she puts out.

The author has a wonderful story to tell, one that I thoroughly enjoyed and will certainly be passing down to my own daughter. To me, this is a coup of the YA genre, one that shouldn’t be missed."
-Journal of Always (January 09, 2012)

"This book more than any other in the series was a really cool blend of paranormal and real world.  I totally enjoyed it, and it left about a million questions that I hope are answered in the next book!  This is a really great series, so if you haven't checked it out yet, what are you waiting for?"
-Cat's Thoughts (November 20, 2011)

"This installment is a great continuation of the adventures of Yuki and her friends!...I definitely recommend the series if you love mysterious supernatural stories."
-Steph: Short + Sweet (November 4, 2011)

"The book was wonderful. The first few pages had me hooked and I immediately began to see why so many people sang praises for this young adult series. In my book it was a lot better than some of the ones that I had seen. Without pushing some of the boundaries there are for young adult themes these days. The story captivated me with the powers that Yuki has and those of her friends."
-Great Minds Think Aloud (October 27, 2011)

"Legend of Witchtrot Road is the third book of the spirit guide series, and it’s the best...Begin your journey into the magic world of Yuki and her friends and you won’t regret it."
-In the Dark (October 24, 2011)

"This is seriously one of my very favourite series ever.  It’s fun, cute, quirky, scary, funny and choc-a-block with ghosts.  The world is amazing – spirit guides, werewolves, dead-people-smelling-girls, witches.  The characters are wonderful and relatable.  The relationships feel 100% real and believable.  I was glued to the page from start to finish.  I just love everything about the Spirit Guide series – what am I going to do while I wait for Book Four?!

The plot was really fast and super twisty, with an ending I definitely did not see coming – just how I like ‘em.  I was scared, amused, confused and seriously wowed by the (another Yuki word) awesomeness.  I love this series!  I haven’t come across anything even close to it.  No one does the hilarious to the scary like E.J.  She rocks!  As Yuki would say.

Finally, to sum the story up in one sentence: Sleuthing with a side of ghosts – love it"
-The Book Addicted Girl (October 21, 2011)

"This is my favorite of the three Spirit Guide Series stories...If you've enjoyed the other Spirit Guide stories, you'll love this one. If you haven't tried them, then get your feet wet with She Smells The Dead! October is the best month to read this series as the first two occur right around Halloween! So don't wait! And make sure you read this one! It's great!"
-Buried in Books (October 21, 2011)

"The Spirit Guide Series Is An Absolute Must Read. Prepare to fall in love with Yuki, Calvin, Emma and Simon."
-A Cupcake and a Latte (October 16, 2011)

"I have to give props to E.J. and to her Spirit Guide series. This is the third time that she's delivered a high quality, straightforward and entertaining read."
-Rabid Reads (October 14, 2011)

"E.J. Stevens has written a charming, lighthearted YA series that is sharp, witty and wholesome."
-Paranormal Romance Guild Reviews (October 12, 2011)

"I love the Spirit Guide series. These reads are fast, quirky, and inventive."
-Reading Lark (October 04, 2011)

"The third novel in the Spirit Guide series is definitely my favorite in the series. E.J Stevens really pulled me into Legend of Witchtrot Road, right at the first page by putting two lead characters in a scary and tough situation. I read this book in one sitting and really wished it never would end."
-Seeing Night Reviews (September 28, 2011)

"This is definitely an interesting series and one that I find to be quite entertaining! I love Yuki!"
-A GREAT Read (September 27, 2011)

"So Yuki and the gang are back! Right now, I have to claim this one as the best in the series."
-Cup of Tea Reviews (September 17, 2011)

"A girl who can smell the dead, her alpha werewolf boyfriend, her amazing vegan loving bff and another sexy wolf, make up one very awesome and interesting group of characters to read about."
-Awesomesauce Book Club (September 12, 2011)

"This is an awesome series and I would suggest it for anyone that loves YA!"
-YA Book Haven (September 08, 2011)

"These books are brilliant- such a wonderful mix of mystery and magic with really quirky and lovable characters. The Legend Of Witchtrot Road follows Yuki and friends investigating the death of a football player, killed whilst driving down the supposedly haunted Witchtrot Road. His smell impression keeps leading them back to the school, but Yuki herself is in grave danger when the rest of the football team accuse Yuki of being a witch and of casting a fatal curse on the team. Yuki, Calvin, Simon and Emma need to find out exactly what is happening in the town (and preferably before the full moon). I love the sense of family and loyalty between these four friends, and how they always work together to help each other out."
-Always Lost in Stories (August 29, 2011)

"Love this series, I can't wait till the next book comes out.

E.J. Stevens is an excellent writer always leaving you wanting more."
-Nancy (August 21, 2011)

"I didn't think it possible to fall even more in love with this series (and the characters, oh the amazingly swoon-worthy male characters and the super snarky female characters), but after having read this book, the third installment of this series, I found that it is indeed possible.

All in all, if you have yet to read one of E.J.'s books, well, WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR? You are seriously missing out! Not only will her books suck you in with their unique paranormal elements, but also the humor (her characters are some of the most humorous I have read in the world of YA and dare I say it, she possess comedic talents similar to that of Rachel Hawkins and Kiersten White- my two all time favourite YA funny ladies)."
-Avery's Book Nook (August 19, 2011)

"Well this book was so fantastic I do not even know how I can put into words what I thought of this beautifully written masterpiece. I just adore this whole series. I enjoy myself so much when I read this great books, it is almost like I get transported back to my high school days. Also the characters are so unique and unlike all of the other characters that you find out there in the readers world."
-Forbidden Passions Reviews (August 18, 2011)

"I just adore this series. It is so much fun to read and the characters are just so unique and unlike any others out there."
-My Guilty Obsession (August 13, 2011)



















Reviews of Brush with Death:

"Stevens has managed to once again create a wonderful mystery filled with characters that are not only loveable but completely realistic and unforgettable."
-My Guilty Obsession

"This is by far the best book of the series and I hope you're ready to be torn apart and stitched back together again when you read it, because that's exactly what happened to me. Yuki was broken, Calvin was broken, Emma was broken, I was broken - but E.J. slammed us all back together and it wasn't awful, it was good. I'm invested and I absolutely cannot wait to see where Stevens takes us next. "
-Shannon, Autumneffect

"I plan on getting these books to add to the library of the middle school that I work in. A Very Good Read!!!!!"
-Lindis Russell



















Reviews of The Pirate Curse:

"It is sad to see this series end but I am completely satisfied with the way it all did. The epilogue was wonderful and exactly what I needed in order to say goodbye to this wonderful group of characters."

"What an excellent book! I believe this is the culmination of The Spirit Guide Series, and it's just fantastic. There's action, adventure, werewolves, witches and pirate ghosts."
-Eat Sleep Read

"All good things must come to an end, thus Ms. Stevens brings us the last story in her Spirit Guide series, but not without one more good mystery for Yuki and the gang to solve.  It was bittersweet reading this story, knowing it was going to be the last and trying to savor every last bit of it, yet unable to put the book down because it was just so much fun to hunt for pirate treasure."
-Penny Adams, Paranormal Romance Guild

"Ms Stevens, you have done the writing community a great service writing a story like this."
-Gloria Lakritz, Paranormal Romance Guild


.